Dublin Bay Sailing Club logo


2016 11 21

DBSC’ s 2016 Prize Giving

The wrap-up of DBSC's 133rd season took place on Friday night, the 21st.November with the presentation of the Club's glittering array of silver and glassware prizes. It was the typically convivial occasion, held as usual, in the splendidly refurbished dining- cum -ward room of the Royal St. George Yacht Club. The Commodore, Chris Moore, presided and the Hon.Secretary, Donal O'Sullivan, announced the winners of the DBSC’s 93 cups and trophies (plus 110 bags of glassware - all of 530 pieces).

In a slight departure from routine, Hal Sisk, accepted the invitation to give the latest news about the restoration of one of the DBSC Twenty One footers - Naneen, which will be re-built from the keel up under the supervision of a distinguished naval architect. That class's prizes were on display, including the Carson Cup, believed to have been presented originally by the family of Edward Carson, the Unionist politician. Also, Claudine Murphy, accepting the Viking Award on behalf of sister Annalise, spoke of the Murphy family's gratitude to everyone for their kindness and support, leading up to and following Annalise's tremendous victory in Rio.

To view Joe Fallon's photographs of the event, click   here

Winners of the Club's premier awards were as following:

The Viking Award -   for a notable contribution to sailing -   Annalise Murphy.

Dun Laoghaire Harbour Trophy   -    for best new boat in the Bay - Tim Goodbody's J109, White Mischief.

Newsom Cup   -        for best one-design boat   - Viking, sailed by   Brian Glynn et al.

The Waterhouse Shield   - best boat on handicap   -  Bon Exemple, sailed by Colin Byrne.

Alf Delaney Cup -    best dinghy - Dunmoanin’, sailed by Frank Hamilton.

The Brendan Ebrill Cup - special conditions - Bandit - sailed by Ann Kirwan, Brian Cullen and Ciara Brown

For full List of prize winners, click here